Destiny 2 Gameplay Reveal Trailer is Here

So my gaming related social media feeds have been ablaze today with all the big Destiny 2 news.

Including this trailer:

And…

Well I wish I actually cared.

Don’t get me wrong on a purely superficial level the trailer looks awesome and what I’m seeing on my Twitter and Facebook feeds sounds promising.

Yet I am completely underwhelmed right now and not the least bit excited.   In fact I might well be experiencing utter dread at the thought of the coming days when my favorite video game podcasts become filled with Destiny talk.

I’ve quite enjoyed the lack of Destiny talk.

To be clear I gave Destiny a fair shake, I tried it on the Xbox 360 when it first released, waited months until The Taken King was released and spent one long eight hour session with my friend going through the content.

The game played just fine, smooth combat and all and was a great game to experience shooting the shit with old friends but the lore, world building and “story” absolutely did not hold me.  On the surface Destiny, a sci-fi shooter with co-op multiplayer gameplay sounds like something I should love but I just don’t get the appeal.

I wish I liked Destiny and therefore could be excited about this but I don’t think I could be less enthused.

Despited my personal feelings the trailer and information released today certainly makes it look like fans of Destiny are certainly in for more of what they love.

Well there’s my unpopular opinion for the day.

-Shad (@PolyNerdic)

This entry was posted in Nerd Life and Culture, Uncategorized, Video Game Opinions, Video Game Trailers, Video Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

