The Anticipation Builds: 2017’s Most Anticipated Games

As 2016 marches towards its much deserved end in a few hours and all the big name games have already found their way off store shelves and into your homes it leaves us with this void that can only be filled with handwringing about which games of 2016 were best and of course anxious excitement for the coming year’s crop of big titles and surprise hits.

So which pending releases are we here at PolyNerdic most excited for?

Well in semi-chronological order:

  1. Resident Evil 7-I’ve had a long love-hate relationship with the series, enjoying but never finishing the first game, loving the 2nd and 3rd games immensely and hating the 4th so much that I’ve stayed clear of the games that followed but after playing the demo I have to admit the switch to first person and the apparent move away from zombies and parasites has me intrigued in a way the series hasn’t in a decade.
  2. For Honor-The premise alone has my interest piqued, putting Vikings, Knights and Samurai but the inclusion of an interesting looking control scheme for major battles makes it a must play for me.
  3. Horizon Zero Dawn-I’ve largely avoided trailers as I want to go into this game with as close to zero idea about what the plot is as possible but the coverage I’ve seen showing the beautiful world and combat with robotic creatures was more than enough to make me excited for the game.
  4. TC Ghost Recon Wildlands-I think I’m looking forward to this one in a purely wishful thinking sort of way.  Its the sort of game that looks like it needs to be played with a group of good friends with a like minded approach to the missions.  Even though I probably won’t get to experience it that way the idealized fantasy of playing it like that are enough to keep me excited for the game.
  5. Outlast 2-The original Outlast and the Whistleblower DLC that followed are amazing examples of how to do horror right in a video game.  They had me on the edge of my seat and with my heart pounding in my throat.  The demo for this game was a horrific ride as well and one that I can’t wait to fully immerse myself in.
  6. Injustice 2-Truth be told I’m not a fighting game guy but my love of all things DC comic books led me to try the original Injustice.  As someone who has never been a fan of DC’s chief boy scout, I loved the alternate take on a power hungry Superman and how the battle completely shattered old alliances and made former enemies take up arms together.  In fact I really wish the game was more of an Arkham style game than a fighter but I digress, I liked the original a lot and am looking forward to the next iteration.
  7. Mass Effect: Andromeda-It is undeniable that Mass Effect 2 was the peak of the series but I also happen to be one of those rare crazy people who didn’t absolutely hate the ending to the original trilogy.  Mass Effect was arguably THE pivotal series of the last console cycle and as such how could I not be intrigued by the possibility of a whole new story set in that universe?
  8. Prey-I barely played the original Prey so the news that the “sequel” would be reboot was hardly a blip on my radar.  Lacking a love for the original it has instead been the brief little teasers and features on the internet that have sparked my interest in the game.  While I’m not convinced it will be a GOTY contender I am certainly very, very interested in seeing how the game plays when it comes out.
  9. South Park: The Fractured But Whole-The Stick of Truth was a brilliantly done, wholly offensive, loving homage to turned based RPGs and the fantasy genre.  While it was far from a perfect game it was a riot to play (when it wasn’t pushing me to the limits of my personal tastes that is) and I for one can’t wait to dive back into the world of South Park as the boys and girls of that quaint little town ditch the swords and sorcery for some good old fashioned super hero shenanigans.
  10. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild-While it is true that I lack a Wii U and will likely not get my hands on a Switch come launch day, I am still extremely excited at the prospects of this game.  I’ve missed out on a lot of the Zelda games over the years but have always loved the ones I did play and this one looks to be no different.  The game looks fantastic and I’m already bummed out that I won’t be in on the ground floor when it hits stores next year.
  11. Red Dead Redemption 2-RDR was my favorite game of last console generation and is arguably my all time favorite game so it is a no-brainer that I’d be excited for this one.  While many people were upset by the lack of concrete information in the trailer release a month or so back, I loved just seeing the world again, this time in beautiful modern graphics.  I don’t need to know the exact story or the players within to feel excited for this game.  If I play nothing else in 2017, RDR 2 will be it.

I’m sure there are other games coming out this year that I will fall in love with but as we sit here a mere two hours away from 2017 these are the ones that have my attention right now.

I look forward to those surprise, under-the-radar hits (2016’s Stardew Valley, Superhot, etc) as well.

I guess while 2017 has me full of apprehension in every other way, I’m happy to see that it looks like it has the potential to build on the amazing year that 2016 was in video games and that, that may be just what I need to see.

Happy New Year folks, hope you are having a safe and fun holiday and I hope to see you come back again and again in the approaching year.

-Shad (@PolyNerdic)

This entry was posted in Nerd Life and Culture, Uncategorized, Video Game Opinions, Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Anticipation Builds: 2017’s Most Anticipated Games

  1. pinkbambi13 says:

    So excited for RDR2 😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

