Star Wars Haul

So it is December 24th, the Eve of Christmas, and Star Wars: The Force Awakens has unofficially been out for a week (officially six days but there were 7:30 showings on last Thursday, the movie has been out a week).

I have yet to see it due to a confluence of ill-timed schedules and the obvious big day tomorrow and all that comes with it.

So no spoilers!

But in an effort to take the sting off of that particular wound I found some deals on Amazon that I couldn’t pass up.

WP_20151224_11_40_29_Pro

In my excitement I was going to share them with you via an “unboxing” video of sorts but the combination of my shitty computer and shitty webcam put an end to that after an hour of trying to record it.

Instead you fine folks get to see my haul in frozen image format instead.

I know the whole Extended Universe was Order 66’d by Disney to make room for the new continuity but that doesn’t mean there aren’t a ton of great stories to be found in the now dead continuity (rebranded as “Legends”).

One of those stories is the Heir to the Empire or Thrawn Trilogy by Timothy Zahn.

WP_20151224_12_29_22_Pro.jpg

I have always heard of these books but have never had the chance to read them until now.  I look forward to reading the first stories to touch on Han and Leia being married and expecting the twins that would later become key figures in the “Legends” line or the first appearances of Mara Jade.

Since the prequels did such a horrid job of giving us a satisfying look at Darth Vader’s early days I also picked up James Luceno’s Dark Lord: The Rise of Darth Vader for dirt cheap.

WP_20151224_006

Luceno penned the prequel to Episode III entitled Labyrinth of Evil as well as the novelization of Episode III itself (both of which were pretty damn good and much better than any of the prequel films themselves.

And the only currently canonical piece to be added to my collection, I picked up volume one of Marvel’s Darth Vader series simply entitled Vader.

WP_20151224_007.jpg

This is series is set between Episodes IV and V and follows Vader in the aftermath of the Battle of Yavin. I haven’t looked deep into the book but the artwork looks great and to be honest I was sold on the book after seeing Vader being browbeat by Jabba for arriving early and killing two of his guards and Vader saying “I have only killed two, do not make me reconsider my generosity.”

darth-vader-comic-top-e1415980461972

I can’t wait to finish the volume of Teen Titans I am on and start reading these. Having new things to read always makes me feel good and having new Star Wars stuff to experience definitely cools the burn I feel whenever I have to quickly dart around the internet dodging spoilers for The Force Awakens.

I’ll likely be busy over the next couple of days and not have time to do much of anything on here but I do hope all of you have a spectacular couple of days with your families.

I know I’ll be enjoying the Merriest possible Christmas with my nerdspawn and geeky goddess and hope the same for you.

This entry was posted in Books, Comic Books, Nerd Life and Culture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

