The Timpf Tiff: Overzealous Star Wars Fans Exhibiting Atrocious Behaviour

Unless you’ve been living under a rock or on a deserted island (maybe with a volleyball for a friend) for the last several months you’ve no doubt noticed the fact that a new Star Wars film is coming in a few short weeks.

To a large number of people, myself included, this is cause for much rejoicing, celebration, discussion, anticipation and dare I say obsession.

But, as hard as you may find it to believe, there are people out there who aren’t the least bit excited.

One such individual is Katherine Timpf.

Katherine-Timpf-head-shot

A few weeks ago, when halftime at a Monday Night Football game was inexplicably chosen as the platform to reveal what was at the time the first official full trailer for The Force Awakens, Ms. Timpf was on political comedy show Red Eye on Fox News and had the following to say:

“I have never had any interest in watching space nerds poke each other with their little space nerd sticks, and I’m not going to start now. You people are crazy. You Star Wars people are crazy. Yesterday I tweeted something, and all I said was that I wasn’t familiar with Star Wars because I’ve been too busy liking cool things and being attractive — people threatened my life. You’re not really branding yourself in a way that makes me want to join your life-threatening club.” (Watch for yourself here)

Apparently over the last month Ms. Timpf has continued to get death threats and suggestions that she should be raped along with demands that she apologize.  In a recent article she went on to showcase some of the vile things various Youtube commenters have said of her.

I really wish that every time something like this happens I didn’t find myself reading or writing the words “death threats” and/or “rape” imagery.

Look I get that many nerds are upset but her words and want her to apologize, but unfortunately  folks she doesn’t owe anyone an apology for not liking a movie.  And while one could argue that her comments about “being attractive” equating to calling all Star Wars fans ugly, well to be honest I can’t even wrap my mind around how anyone with a functional brain could have taken that as serious.

We are well past the days when nerd automatically equated with ugly and/or loser.  It doesn’t take much more than a quick bit of keystrokes in Google to find a litany of attractive (to many) men and women who proudly let their geek flag fly high: Vin Diesel (D&D player and Groot), Chloe Bennet (Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.), Anna Kendrick (huge Star Wars nerd), Benedict Cumberpatch, Natalie Portman, Rosario Dawson and Mila Kunis to name a few nerds of both genders.

But what I can’t understand is how we are still in an era wherein a differing opinion calls for threats of sexual assault/violation and/or death.

Frankly nerds I expect better of us than this.  We’re supposed to be smarter.  We’re supposed to be the more cultured ones.  Hell a great deal of us grew up being bullied why the hell are we doing so from behind our keyboards, knowing full well what it feels like to be terrorized.

And over something as trivial as a freaking movie and a perceived slight.

I happen to love the movie Pacific Rim, the Fallout video game series, nearly anything with zombies and much to my frequent shame am admittedly known to enjoy the low-brow cheese-fest that is the WWE.  My girlfriend flat out refuses to partake in any of these things.  I would never dream of wishing harm on her for snubbing or besmirching things I enjoy.

See that is one of the beautiful things about the human condition, we all get to like and dislike things at our leisure.  Sure I would love it if my girlfriend took an interest in those things with me but I would never wish her harm for disliking them.

This is supposed to be the golden age of geekdom.  We live in a time when the things that got us beaten up when I was a kid are now not only accepted but they are freaking as mainstream as mainstream gets.

Frankly I find it very, very disturbing that so many people within a group that I openly and proudly am a member of, behaving in such a disgusting manner.  I feel like this comes up every few months and I’m tired of beating my head against the wall.

This. Behaviour. Has. To. Stop!

No one deserves pain, sexual violation or death simply for not liking a movie or making a joke you find insulting or don’t find funny.

By my estimation the greatest crime Ms. Timpf has committed (apart from poor taste in movies) is the crime of making a tired and cliche joke.

Yeah we get it, nerds are ugly, ha ha.

Please hateful nerds (you know who you are) rise above this nonsense.  We all look bad when Fett-Man87 or DarthSexiest sit there and spew vile diatribes calling for rape and murder.

We’re better than that.

Oh and just in case Fett-Man87 or DarthSexiest are actual usernames AND you happen to not be participating in this ugliness…um…no harm was meant, I just threw those names together after two seconds of thinking.

And if they are usernames of people calling for rape and such…well…’the f**k is wrong with you?

This entry was posted in Nerd Life and Culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Timpf Tiff: Overzealous Star Wars Fans Exhibiting Atrocious Behaviour

  1. The problem with it all is the anonymity the internet provides. Being a bully when we were kids vs now is entirely different. In our day, you walk up and punch someone in the face or call them a name and put your name on that shit. Now, you log in behind some screen name and attack peoples character, values, fears and psyche and there is rarely ever repercussions to it. This next generation of kids (teens and early 20s) coming up is so goddamn sensitive to everything. If you even disagree with most of them about simple shit, they take it as an attack on who they are as a person. I’m not saying it’s all of them, thankfully there’s good parents out there still that didn’t coddle their kids to death, but its a large enough amount that its become an issue that’s going to only get worse as they become parents themselves.

    Like

  2. LAPhil says:

    I don’t care for all that Star Wars crap either and never have. I guess I’d better be careful not to say that too loud.

    Like

    • Shad says:

      It’s all in how you say it LAPhil. There is nothing intrinsically wrong with not liking something but it is all in how it is expressed. Ms. Timpf was attempting humor and it backfired because even the most casual of observers of society should know that people are overly sensitive today.

      That said there is an inherent difference in saying, “I don’t like Star Wars” or “I’ve never enjoyed those movies” and for example something more aggressive like “I hate Star Wars and all Star Wars fans are mouthbreathing virgins who live in their parents’ basements.”

      Anyone can rightfully not like a thing and in the case of Ms. Timpf her greatest “crime” wasn’t not liking the films but rather in making a bad joke that lots of people apparently either didn’t get or were so overly sensitive it went right over their heads.

      Like I said in my piece, rape and death threats were absolutely not warranted.

      Like

Leave a Reply

