Batman: Arkham Knight-The Red Hood Story Pack Review

Jason Todd, the second Robin now known as The Red Hood, is one of my favorite characters in the entirety of the DC universe.

When I read that Red Hood would have his own pre-order bonus for Batman: Arkham Knight I began crossing my fingers that it would eventually become available as regular old DLC.

Well that day came and this morning I dropped the staggering $1.99 to pick it up.

“How was it?” I pretend to hear you ask.

Well, I’ll tell you.

Redhood Double Clothesline

The “story pack” deals with the titular Red Hood taking down Black Mask and his gang, simple and too the point.

Much like the Harley Quinn pack this is a painfully short addition to the game, so don’t expect hours of entertainment out of your couple of bucks.  I was pretty rusty with the Arkham controls and as such fumbled a few sequences which added about ten minutes to my play-through, making it last about 35 minutes.  If you are flawless I suspect you could probably beat it in about 15 to 20 minutes.

Red Hood plays a little differently than Batman in the main game, especially in “predator” segments.  When facing a room full of armed men and needing to take them out quietly I highly suggest using the silent takedown neck breaks vs the takedowns from above or below.  Red typically uses his guns in many instances and will immediately draw the attention and/or gun fire of any nearby thugs.  In non-stealth, straight combat sections Red Hood plays like a more violent Batman.  Instead of throwing out a Batarang at charging opponents Red has no qualms about whipping out two pistols and unloading at the genius running his way.  His special takedowns in mid-combo are equally ruthless as he will pistol whip or toss a goon around before putting a bullet in him at point blank range.

RedHood Combat

After roughly three segments of either combat or predator you face off with Black Mask his criminal cadre.  This fight plays out like any other with the added threat of Black Mask shooting you.  Once the fight is over so is the DLC.

I have mixed feelings about this DLC.  Much like the Harley Quinn pack I was ecstatic to get to play as one of my favorite DC characters and enjoyed every moment I had with him but can’t help but feel a little let down by the brevity of my time with the character.

I would absolutely pay $7 for a longer DLC, such as Batgirl’s, or even $60 for a full Red Hood game, as unlikely as that would be.

While my time with Red Hood was far, far too short I have to admit that the DLC was fun while it lasted and definitely worth checking out if you have a couple of bucks to spare.

And if not, you can always check out my commentary free play-through below.

This entry was posted in Comic Book Video Games, PolyNerdic Plays, Video Game Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

