Finished Season 2 of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. About 24 Hours Ago

So the Goddess of Geekery and I curled up and finally finished season 2 of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.  last night.

Personally as much as I enjoyed most of the 1st season I found this one to be much more entertaining overall.  I admittedly got a little bored with some of the stuff in the Inhuman sanctuary but even the stuff I found dull was necessary for the overall arc.

My favorite part of the show has continued to be the development of the characters though.  Skye’s development into a badass with superpowers.  Ward’s continued downward spiral into villainy.  A look a May’s past with her ex and why she was called “The Calvary”.  The entirety of the Fitz-Simmons arc.

shield-season-2-fitz-simmons-inhuman-civil-war

Honestly that last one is probably my favorite.  As much as I love Coulson, Skye and May as characters the combination of Fitz-Simmons creates my favorite “single” character.  On principle I don’t “ship” characters but these too are friggin adorable together.

marcusgohmarcusgoh-agentsofshields02e01review-2JemmaFitzAsset

If I were ranking character arcs this season, Fitz-Simmons’ would be just ahead of Skye’s.  The two of them have gone through a ton since Ward left them to die after dropping them out of a plane into the ocean.

agents-of-shield

The season started with Fitz having trouble with his mental faculties, his self-doubts and believing Simmons left because he expressed feelings about her (not to mention that craziness where he was hallucinating her being there with them).  Simmons on the other hand was working undercover in a Hydra lab, barely escaping with her life when she was outed as a S.H.I.E.L.D. agent.  And we got to see them both in combat a few times this season (of course finding images of these has proved difficult so I’ll just throw up one of Simmons still decked out for field work).

agents-of-shield simmons

But in typical….excuse me, a spoiler is ahead if you haven’t seen the show.

As I was saying just as things looked like they were looking up for the adorably nerdy duo, Fitz awkwardly asking Simmons out to dinner and her equally awkwardly initially not grasping what he was attempting to ask, the universe dumped all over it in typical Whedon-verse fashion.

Simmons was studying the Kree stone that the Inhumans wanted so badly when this happened.

kreestone

And with that being the last shot of the season, I have not been able to stop thinking about it for almost a day.

The two of them just can’t catch a break.

Granted the debut of season 3 is only a few weeks away but as I typically don’t have time to watch tv at night and don’t have the means to record it for later watching it may well be close to a year before I get around to seeing it.

Anyone know if it is on the free portion of Hulu after airing?  If so that might be my way to stay on top of things.

At any rate, I know this devolved into a Fitz-Simmons post but what I really wanted to say was that I absolutely loved the progress the show made in its second season.  I enjoyed season one but it often became a “monster of the week” type show (much like the first six episodes of Gotham, which was all I caught) and over time has become a show that I am very invested in, especially when it comes to a number of the characters.

I look forward to discovering Simmons’ fate, seeing how Fitz handles her disappearance since her walking away last time effected him severely, watching Skye/Daisy continue to develop her powers and how Ward continues his descent.

This entry was posted in Comic Book Television, Marvel Tv and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finished Season 2 of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. About 24 Hours Ago

  1. You can watch on ABC demand online, but I think it takes a couple of days for it to upload on there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

