Worth Watching Avengers: Age of Ultron

(Originally written May 7th, 2015)

I have no doubt in my mind that if you are reading this you’ve already seen Avengers: Age of Ultron.  In fact I’m so certain that you have that I am not even going to tell you it’s worth watching because I know that you know that it is because I know that you’ve gone out and seen it too.

Instead of writing paragraph after paragraph telling you why it is worth seeing I’m just going to sit here and ruminate about all the things I loved about it.

  • The Hulk vs Iron Man fight was easily my favorite single sequence in the movie.  It hit all the right chords between action and comedy and stole the show in my opinion.
  • James Spader was pitch perfect as Ultron.  Something about his voice just felt absolutely spot on whenever Ultron was on screen.
  • I loved the way Scarlett Witch and Quicksilver were utilized.  I was particularly fond of Witch’s look and the way both of their powers were displayed.  This Quicksilver was way better than the other version introduced last year.
  • The Bruce and Natasha angle was a pleasant surprise and one I would have like to have seen more of.
  • Setting up Klaw was a nice touch as well.  I hope to see more of him in the Black Panther film, especially if Andy Serkis is back.
  • The Hawkeye stuff was another pleasant surprise.  I loved the way Whedon made him both important and vulnerable.  Plus I’ve always adored Linda Cardellini.
  • The budding animosity between Rogers and Stark that will lead us into Civil War.  I’m curious as to how this arc will play out sans X-men and Fantastic Four.
  • The Infinity Stones finally being named.
  • That mid-credits scene…I’ve been a fanboy of a certain villain for a long time and getting to see him don his iconic gauntlet and vow to do things himself had me geeking out.

I’m sure there are other bits and pieces I am forgetting about but these were the ones that are standing out as nearly a week later.  I am anxious to get Phase 3 started now, although I remain wary of Ant Man as a property, because I absolutely can’t wait to see Infinity War play out on the big screen.

-S.Y.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

